Solan: Ending speculations and uncertainties, Congress Candidates Punam Grover was elected Mayor of Solan Municipal Corporation, while Rajiv Kaura was elected Deputy Mayor.

Punam Grover was elected from Ward No 8 and had defeated BJP’s former Municipal Council president Pawan Gupta.

Congress candidates polled nine votes as against eight polled for BJP nominees.

The BJP had projected independent candidate Manish Kumar – who is a suspended from the BJP – as its candidate for the mayor’s post and Shailender Gupta from the Ward No 9 for Deputy mayor post.

In Solan MC elections Congress had won 9 wards, while BJP candidates could win 7 wards. 1 seat was won by BJP suspended candidate.

Previous articleSanwara Toll Plaza on Chandigarh-Shimla NH to start operations from April 19
Next articleNine deaths, 842 new Covid cases in Himachal
Rahul Bhandari is Editor of TheNewsHimachal and has been part of the digital world for last 15 years.