Shimla: Newly elected MLAs from Jubbal-Kotkhai, Arki and Fatehpur assembly segments of the state on Monday sworn in as a member of the Himachal Assembly.

Speaker Vipin Singh Parmar administered the oath of office and secrecy to the legislator in a ceremony held at state Vidhan Sabha Shimla.

Leader of opposition Mukesh Agnihotri, Senior Congress leader and Shillai MLA Hashwardhan Singh and Shimla Rural MLA Vikramaditya Singh attended the swearing-in ceremony.

In the recently concluded assembly by-elections, Congress candidates won all three assembly seats. Congress’ Rohit Thakur from Jubbal-Kotkhai segment, Sanjay Awasthy from Arki, while Bhawani Singh Parthenia from Fatehpur assembly constituency.

The by-elections of three assembly constituencies were necessitated due to the death of MLAs Virbhadra Singh from Arki, Narinder Bragta from Jubbal-Kotkhai and Sujan Singh Pathania from Fatehpur assembly constituency.

With the by-elections results, the Congress strength, in the 68-member assembly, is now 22, while the ruling BJP has 43 members, the CPM has one and two seats are being represented by independent candidates.

Previous articleFarm varsity suggests farmers to grow Kala Zeera and Saffron in Kinnaur
Next articleGeorge Fernandes, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley get Padma Vibhushan posthumously
Rahul Bhandari is Editor of TheNewsHimachal and has been part of the digital world for last 15 years.