In the 2012 Himachal Assembly election, two big districts, Kangra and Shimla played crucial role for Indian National Congress as it won 16 out of 23 seats. On the other hand BJP could secure only four seats in these districts, three in Kangra and one in Shimla, whereas BJP rebels in Kangra won two seats and one independent Balbir Singh Verma secure victory in Congress strong bastion Chopal by defeating Congress candidate with 647 votes.

From BJP most of its heavyweights lost their election, only irrigation minister Ravinder Singh Ravi and Sarveen Chaudhary could manage to clinch victory whereas big leaders like Industry Minister Kishan Kapoor, Ramesh Dhawala lost their election.

In Shimla district, Congress again fosters its dominance as six out of eight candidates won their election. Only former party president and former Rajya Sabha member Suresh Bhardwaj outbid his opponent with slender margin, where other candidates faced defeat. Big name in this league, Horticulture minister Narinder Bragta lost election to Rohit Thakur with huge margin of over 9000 votes, whereas Rakesh Verma also didn’t find the electorates favour this time and lost to Congress stalwart with over 5000 margin. In Rohru BJP faced biggest defeat as Congress candidate managed to win with record margin of over 28000 votes and in Rampur, home segment of Virbhadra Singh, BJP even failed to come near to Congress candidate.

BJP again failed in Chopal assembly segment as its candidate got paltry 4747 votes from 49721 valid votes and comes third in the contest. Independent Balbir Singh Verma (Bittu Verma) secures victory here.

Previous articleCongress claims majority, likely to announce new leader soon
Next articleShanta Kumar faction fails in Kangra, puts end to BJP’s Mission Repeat
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.