Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh resigned as member of the Lok Sabha. It is learned that he has sent his resignation to Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

Virbhadra Singh, who was elected from Mandi in the 2009 general elections, contested the assembly elections from the Shimla (Rural) constituency in November last year and won with a record margin. He took oath as chief minister 25 December for a record sixth term. He is an eight-time legislator and five-time MP.

Now with his resignation as member of the Lok Sabha, bye election will be held in Mandi parliamentary within six months. Though there is no claimant for the post, but it is unlikely that Congress can pitched for former Mandi MP and Singh’s wife Pratibha Singh for the bye poll.