If believes sources, Congress has reached consensus over 30 seats. Congress is likely to announce its nominees for all 68 seats by October 4 after the Central Election Committee meeting. 19 out of 23 MLAs are included in the list.

From Bilaspur district, the names of Ram Lal Thakur (Naina Devi), Rajesh Dharmani (Ghumarwin) and Biru Ramk Kishore (Jhanduta) are final. There is panel of three candidates for Bilaspur. In case of Chamba district, all names except Chamba segment have been finalised. The names of Asha Kumari (Dalhousie), Surinder Bhardwaj (Churah), Kuldeep Pathania (Bhatiyat) and Thakur Singh (Bharmour) are final, whereas for Chamba, the panel comprising Pawan Nayar, Neeraj Nayar (son of former minister Sagar Chand Nayar) and Raj Singh Thakur has been recommended.

In Hamirpur district, the names of Anita Verma (Sujanpur) and Sukhwinder Sukhu (Nadaun) are final. The panel for Hamirpur has Kuldeep Pathnia and Narinder Thakur and the nominees for Badsar and Bhoranj will be decided from the panel.

In Solan district, the names of Lakhwinder Rana (Nalagarh) and Palak Ram Kashyap (Solan) are final. The panel for Doon has the names of Lajja Ram and Parmjit Singh Pammi. The panel for Arki has the names of Kailash Prakash and Sanjay Thakur and for Kasauli, candidature of Vinod Sultanpuri and Namita are being discussed. In Sirmaur district, the party is backing the sitting legislators from Nahan, Shilai and Pacchad and Vijay Kumar has been renominated from Renuka, whereas three names are making round from Paonta Sahib. In Mandi district, there is a panel for Sarkaghat. For the rest of the seats, those who contested elections in 2007 are likely to be renominated. For the Kullu seat, Prem Lata (wife of former minister Satya Pal Thakur) and Sunder Thakur are in the panel. From Anni, the name of Khub Ram has been recommended.

For Politically important Kangra district Panels of two or more candidates have been recommended on most of its seats, whereas adjoining Una districts will be go thorough the same processor. Ticket allotment will be finalised by the Central Election Committee on October 4, after which only party president Sonia Gandhi may make a change or two, if required.

Previous articleVirbhadra Singh blames BJP led Govt’s faulty policy for fiscal deficit
Next articleSchool demands judicial inquiry into girls’ death
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.