Bahra University

Governor Urmila Singh honoured eighteen teachers of the State with National and State Level Awards to mark the celebration of State Level Teachers Day Celebration function organized at Raj Bhawan, here today.

Dr. Chandreshwar Sharma, Principal, GSSS, Kuthar, district Solan, Gopal Chand, Headmaster, GHS, Majhranoo, district Mandi, Kashmir Singh, lecturer, GSSS, Dhamandari, district Una, Anil Kumar, Lecturer, GSSS, Randhara, district Mandi, Inder Singh Dhatwala, TGT, GMS, Gujrehara, district Bilaspur, Ram Paul, TGT, GMS, Dharampur, district Una, Rattan Chand, TGT, GHS, Surangani, district Chamba, Anil Kumar DPE,GSSS, Basal, district Una, Rattan Chand, Shastri, GSSS, Majheen, district Kangra, Jagdish Ram, PET, GSSS, Saloh, district Una, Ram Swaroop, Shashtri, GHS(G), Jawalamukhi, district Kangra, Sham Lal, CHT, GPS, Dandroo, district Hamirpur, Sandesh Sharma, CHT, GPS, Galian, district Bilaspur, Rajesh Kumar, HT, GPS, Thakran, district Una, Nirjala Devi, HT, GPS, Nagrota Surian, district Kangra and Parmila Devi, CHT, GPS, Kothi, district Bilaspur were conferred upon State Award for year 2012, carrying cash prize of Rs. 40,000, Silver Medal, Citation, shawl, cap and a set of books. National Awardee teachers for year 2011, Sushil Kumar, Principal, GSSS Sarkaghat, district Mandi and Prakash Chand, Lecturer, Biology, GSSS, Bharmour, district Chamba were also awarded cash prize of Rs. 60,000 , Silver Medal, Citation, shawl, cap and set of books in Secondary School category while Dr. Shyam Singh Chauhan, TGT, GSSS, Bartoo, tehsil Rohru, district Shimla and Tek Chand Bhandari, PET, GSSS, Bhararu, district Mandi, also got the same honours for their distinguished services rendered by them in addition to their routine teaching. Congratulating the Award winning teachers, Governor Urmila Singh underlined the need for revolutionary changes in promoting girl education in the State.

She said that challenges of providing education to girls residing in rural areas had not diminished. She said that there was need to select the subject matter keeping in view women empowerment by bringing about positive change in the behaviour of teachers and parents. She said that right to education was every child’s birth right and it would have to be ensured that no child was left without education. She said that for overall development, children had to be healthy, strong and disciplined and teachers could play vital role in ensuring intellectual and physical development of a child.

Governor expressed concern over increasing tendency among youth towards use of drugs and other intoxicants. She said that youth needed to be saved from such bad habits. She said that with a view to improve education, teachers, guardians and students had to play pro-active role. She said that academic atmosphere should be in consonance with the interests and capabilities of the students. Governor was joined by the Chief Minister in releasing the souvenir brought out to mark the celebration.

Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal said that among all, teacher and pupil relationship was the pious one. He said that teachers were the builders of the Nation since the solid foundation was laid during their primary stage.
Education Minister I.D. Dhiman said that Teacher’s Day was being celebrated to mark the birth anniversary of great intellectual and multifaceted personality, late Dr. S.Radhakrishanan, who had great interest in teaching. He said that the State had been laying greater emphasis over the quality education wherein teachers had to play pivotal role. He said that in the age of competition students needed to be prepared to face any challenge in their lives. K.Sanjay Murthy, Secretary, Education, welcomed the Governor and Chief Minister. He narrated initiatives taken by State in education sector during past four and a half years which had made it role model in the country.

Dr. Dinkar Burathoki, Director of Education, proposed vote of thanks. Sumit Khimta, Additional Director of Education read out the Message of the President of India Pranab Mukherjee, M.L.Azad, Joint Director, Elementary Education, read the message of Prime Minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh, Dr. Yogesh, Additional Director of Education, read the message of Union HRD Minister, Kapil Sibbal. A cultural programme was presented by RKMV and Portmore school students. Virender Kanwar, Chief Parliamentary Secretary, Suresh Bhardwaj, MLA, Ganesh Dutt, Vice Chairman, HIMUDA, Sanjay Chauhan, Mayor, Municipal Corporation, Tikender Panwar, Deputy Mayor, Anita Tegta, Secretary to the Governor, Rajiv Sharma, Director, Elementary Education, other dignitaries and educationists were present on the occasion.