Dr Sushil Chander is elected a new president and Dr Jeevanand Chauhan general secretary of the Himachal Medical Officers Association in 23rd general house meeting on Sunday at Atal Bihari Vajpayee Institute of Mountaineering and Allied Sports in Manali. Dr HK Atri presided over the elections. Around 220 doctors from across the state chooses 12 executive members of the body with consensus, where Dr Sant Lal Sharma is elected senior vice president, Dr Dilbag, Dr Yashpal Ranta, Dr Amit Rana and Dr Sangeet Dilon are elected as vice presidents. Dr Abhishek Thakur, Dr Pushpinder Thakur, Dr Rahul Rao and Dr Sushma are elected as joint secretary of the association, while Dr Deepak Kainthla is elected as treasurer and Dr Sushel Sharma press secretary of the Himachal Medical Officers’ association.

New elected general secretary Jeevanand Chauhan said the association would take up to the government the demands and problems of doctors. “We would demand for telephone allowance and other essential basic needs of the doctors,” he said.

Jaswant Thakur

Previous articleElaborate arrangement for coming tourist season in Manali
Next articleTumultous welcome to CM at Kotkhai
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.