The Election Commission of India has announced the election to one seat of Rajya Sabha from Himachal Pradesh that will fall vacant on 2nd April, 2012 on completion of term of Smt. Viplove Thakur. The election will be held on 30th March, 2012 according to Narender Chauhan, Chief Electoral Officer, Himachal Pradesh.

Notification to this regard would be issued on 12th March, 2012 and 19th March, 2012 is the last date for filing nomination. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is 22nd March, 2012. The election to Rajya Sabha seat would be held on 30th March, 2012 at Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha complex.