The CJM, Kangra, Ajay Mehta sentenced six Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) officials to six months’ imprisonment and imposed a fine of Rs 1,100 on each of them for allegedly damaging the property of the cricket stadium, Dharamsala, and illegally confining the complainant. The officials who have been convicted in the case are Sanjay Sharma, spokesperson for the HPCA, Gautam Thakur, general secretary, Aseem Aggarwal, joint secretary, Yudishtar Katoch, member, Vipin Mehra, member of the Kangra Cricket Association and Ashok Kumar, groundsman.

The accused have been convicted under Section 147 of the IPC for rioting, Section 341 for wrongful confinement and Section 427 for loss to property. They have been sentenced to six months’ imprisonment and fine of Rs 500 each under Section 147 and Section 427 of the IPC and a sentence of one month and a fine of Rs 100 under Section 341 of the IPC. All sentences will run concurrently. The accused were also released on bail and given one month to approach the higher court against their conviction. The case pertains to an incident that took place in 2005. The Congress allegedly tried to wrest the control of the Dharamsala cricket stadium from BJP leader Anurag Thakur who was the HPCA president.

Source: Tribuneindia