Indian national Congress problem in prestigious Theog assembly constituency is not coming to end as political drama still scripting one after another interesting tale. As per the latest development, the SDM cum Returning Officer Theog has rejected the nomination of Congress leader Vidya Stokes from Theog assembly constituency.

On the last date of nomination Congress Veteran Vidya Stokes had filled her nomination after official Congress nominee Deepak Rathore, who had also submitted authority letter of the party, which came under scrutiny and following this returning officer rejected the candidature of Vidya Stokes.

In another twist, Stokes also cannot contest as an Independent candidate as she had only one proposer against 10 as per the norms.

Initially, Stokes desired to retire from active politics and also wrote to Indian national Congress president and even proposed the name of Virbhadra Singh as the most suitable candidate for Theog. However, Virbhadra Singh shifted to Arki segment, and Congress Central Election Committee cleared the name of young Deepak Rathore for the seat.

Perturbed with the party decision Stokes pressurized the high command and party leadership gave its nod to field her from Theog segment.

With this illustrious political career of nonagenarian Congress Leader Vidya Stokes, who was in active politics since 1974 represented Theog and Kotgarh-Kumarsain assembly constituencies, is virtually over now. Congress veteran Vidya Stokes had represented Theog assembly segment in 1974, 1982, 1985, 1990, 1998 and Kotgar-Kumarsain segment in 2003 and 2008. After delimitation in 2012 Stokes again shifted to Theog segment and won the seat. She was the oldest winner in Himachal Pradesh and has won in the assembly elections for the eighth time in the year 2012.

In her long political career, Stokes had managed important portfolio like Horticulture, Hydropower, IT and Irrigation & Public Health Minister. She was also speaker of the Himachal Vidhan Sabha in 1985-1990, a first women speaker in Himachal Vidhan Sabha.

She served as the Director of the State Bank of India. She was in Delhi Board from 1973 till 1974. She remained the President of State Co-operative Union for a period of four years. She was the President of Indian Women’s Hockey Association in 1984, 1988, 1994 and 2003. Vidya Stokes at the age of 83 was elected Hockey India president on 5 August 2010.