As the date for the election in the State is declared the focus is now shifted to areas that will be the biggest battle grounds in Himachal. And when it comes to the biggest battle field, then it goes without saying that Theog-Kumarsain constituency has become the hottest seat. A reason each party including the BJP, CPI (M) and TMC have nominated their best representatives to take on the Congress nominee, the leader of the opposition Vidya Stokes in the constituency.

To make the contest fierce, TMC (making way into Himachal ‘s political frame for the first time) has nominated Dr. Pramod Sharma, CPI (M) has nominated their senior campaigner Rakesh Singha, while BJP has laid off all other enthusiasts and has nominated Rakesh Verma as their nominee to contest the elections from Theog-Kumarsain constituency.

It is worth noting that Rakesh Verma, the sitting MLA from Theog has won twice from Theog, once on BJP ticket and twice as an independent candidate. Citing his past record that touts his clean and recognized personality BJP has this time nominated Verma to contest for the seat. Rakesh Verma has had a good tenure in the area, a reason people of Theog are very pleased with him, if voters from Kumarsain join force in Verma’s favour, then there is no doubt that Rakesh Verma will upset his opponents in the constituency.

Previous articleCPM complains election commission to stop interviews in HPU
Next articleGreat Himalayan National Park set to be UNESCO heritage site
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.