Madhu Sood Congress candidate for Mayor

Himachal Congress has finally announced its candidates for MC Shimla. Congress decided to go with sitting Mayor Madhu Sood for Mayor and Davinder Chauhan for Deputy Mayor Post. Congress decided its candidates in a meeting at HPCC office Rajiv Bhawan. Himachal Congress Chief Kaul Singh Thakur, Senior leader Vidya Stokes, Union Minister Virbhadra Singh, MLA Sohan Lal, Ex MLA Harbhajan Singh Bhajji, Kuldeep Singh Thakur, senior party leader Brij Bihari Lal Buttail and other party leaders were present at the meeting. Congress has tried to make balance with Sood and Pahari votes by giving representation for both. Congress also announced its councilor candidates for all 25 wards.

Ward No 1 (Bharari) – Rashmi Bhardwaj

Ward No. 2 (Ruldubhatta) – Aman Deep Chauhan

Ward No. 3 (Kaithu) – Anjana Mehta

Ward No. 4 (Annandale) – Jaiwanti Devi

Ward No. 5 (Summer Hill) – Veena Thakur

Ward No. 6 (Totu) – Nidhi Bathla

Ward No 7 (Baluganj) – Usha Lakhanpal

Ward No. 8 (Tutikandi) – Uma Kaushal

Ward No 9 (Nabha) – Shashi Shekher

Ward No 10 (Fagli) – Rakesh Kuku

Ward No. 11 (Krishnanagar) – Bawana

Ward No. 12 (Ram Bazar) – Sushma Kuthiala

Ward No. 13 (Lower Bazar) – Uma Verma

Ward No 14 (Jakhoo) – Atul Gautam

Ward No 15 (Benmore) – Roshan Lal Verma

Ward No 16 (EngineGhar) – Sushant Keprate

Ward No. 17 (Sanjauli) – Sonia Chauhan

Ward No 18 (Dhalli) – Mahender Singh Kanwar

Ward No 19 (Chamiyana) – Mahender Singh Chauhan

Ward No. 20 (Malyana) – Kuldeep Thakur

Ward No. 21 (Kasumpti) – Sushma Chauhan

Ward No. 22 (Chotta Shimla) – Surinder Chauhan

Ward No. 23 (Patyog) – Deepak Rohal

Ward No. 24 (Khalini) – Parveen Kumar

Ward No. 25 (Kalnog) – Alok Pathania

Earlier, Congress had received 11 application for mayor and 9 for Deputy Mayor post, whereas 115 had applied for ward’s representation. Deputy mayor Harish Janartha’s name were also making rounds as he was also inducted back into the party fold, but finally Congress decided to go with sitting Mayor Madhu Sood for the election. CPM has already announced its most trusted faces Sanjay Chauhan and Tikender Panwar for Mayor and Deputy Mayor, respectably for the election, whereas BJP has not revealed its choice for the top post.

The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.