Shimla MC poll: 13 wards reserved for women

Out of 25 wards, 13 wards of the Shimla Municipal Corporation have been reserved for women candidates. The decision regarding reservation of wards was taken by draw by DC Onkar Sharma, who is also the election officer, in the presence of representatives of various parties. Mayor and Deputy Mayor post are open.

Four wards – Kishna Nagar, Annandale, Khalini and Phagli – have been reserved for Scheduled Castes, out of these Annandale and Krisha Nagar have also been reserved for women. Of the remaining 21 wards, 11 wards of Lower Bazar, Summer Hill, Kaithu, Sanjauli Chowk, Kusumpti, Boieleauganj, Tutu, Ram Bazar, Tuti Kandi, Bharari and Ruldu Bhatta have been reserved for women.

The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.