Friday 26 April 2019
  • :
  • :

Independent Candidate wrestles Zila Parishad Chairman and vice Chairman seats

Independent candidate wrenched Bilaspur Zila Parishad chairman and vice chairman seats. Kuldeep Thakur who was a once BJP strong man elected president as he defeated BJP backed candidate Promila. BJP had 8 Zila Parishad members out of 14, whereas arch rival Indian National Congress had 4. Initially it was speculating that BJP backed candidate will comfortably win the seat, but election became interesting when both candidate tied at 7-7. The end decision was decided by the lottery system, which denied all speculation and elect Kuldeep Thakur on chairman seat. Same as the chairman, independent candidate won on vice chairman seat as Anoop Mahajan outsmarted BJP backed candidate by 8 to 6 votes.

The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.