Shimla: With a view to strengthen the state party unit and to bring in dedicated party workers within the party fold, State Congress president Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu has dissolved 34 of the 68 Block Congress Committees (BCC) in the Assembly segments where the BJP had managed to get a lead of over 5,000 votes.

The block committees dissolved include Nalagarh, Paonta Sahib, Baijnath (SC), Kangra, Shahpur, Jwalamukhi, Sullah, Nurpur, Doon, Palampur, Una, Bhoranj (SC) , Bhattiyat, Nagrota, Fatehpur, Chamba, Nahan, Ghumarwin, Arki, Indo ( SC), Dalhousie, Sarkaghat, Hamirpur, Dharamshala, Dharampur, Bilaspur, Jaswan Pragpur, Mandi, Jaisinghpur (SC), Dehra, Gagret, Jhanduta(SC), Solan, Balh (SC).

Congress state president, while addressing media personnel, indicated to make major revamp in the state party set-up and include young faces in organizational structure.

These BCC will be reconstituted within a month with the consultation of grassroot party workers, Sukhu added.

Earlier in recently concluded parliamentary election, Congress has lost all four seats, including its strong bastion Mandi and Shimla PC to the BJP.

Bahra University