narender modi

Narender Damodardas Modi took oath as the 15th Prime Minister of India. President Pranab Mukherjee administered the oath of office and secrecy in Hindi to PM Narender Modi in the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitly, Venkiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Sadananda Gowda, Uma Bharti, Najma Heptullah, Gopinath Munde, Ramvilas Paswan, Kalraj Mishra, Maneka Gandhi, Ananath Kumar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Smiriti Irani, Harsimrat Badal, Shiv Sena’s Anant Geete and several others also took oath as Union Cabinet Ministers.

Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Mauritius Prime Minister Navinchandra Ramgoolam, Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala, Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay of Bhutan and Bangladesh parliament Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury graced the occasion with their presence. Outgoing Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, leaders of various other political parties and Chief Ministers of several states were also present among other 4000 guests at the occasion.

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh congratulated Narender Modi on assuming the office of Prime Minister of India. He expressed hope that Modi would come up to the expectations of the people of the country.

Chief Minister said that Modi was well aware of the problems of the people of Himachal Pradesh and its topography. He expressed hope that Himachal Pradesh would get special central assistance and other due shares during his stint as Prime Minister.