The polling in all four Parliamentary Constituencies of the State had concluded peacefully. Chief Electoral Officer Narinder Chauhan confirmed that no untoward incident had been reported so far from any part of the State on the poll day. The poll percentage worked out to be approximately 65 percentages.

There were 38 candidates in fray for four parliamentary Constituencies (PC). As many as 4744215 general electors and 65856 service electors were to exercise their Right to Franchise thereby total 4810071 voters in the State. As many as 84460 electors were first time.

He informed that the polling started slowly in the early hours and it picked up as day progressed.

He said that Lok Sabha Election-2014 and bye-election to 37-Sujanpur Assembly Constituency has been started at 7.00 AM sharp today in all 7385 Polling Stations of all four Parliamentary constituencies of the State after Mock Poll exercise.

As per the reports reaching headquarters by 9.00 AM, the polling percentage in PC was reported as 16.43% and 17.21 % in Sujanpur assembly constituency (AC) which gained momentum after 11AM. The voters turn out by 11 AM was 31.70 % for PC and 36.27% in Sujanpur AC. Meanwhile, by 1 PM 45.62 % of voters turn out was reported in PC and 62.25 % till 5 PM.

The polling percentage was approximately 70.93 % in Una District. Haroli Assembly Segment recorded the highest percentage of 73.94 % whereas Karsog Assembly Segment recorded the lowest at 53.23 %. Hamirpur Parliamentary Constituency recorded the highest percentage of polling and lowest polling percentage was reported from Shimla Parliamentary Constituency.

Chief Electoral Officer said that Parliamentary elections in the State were conducted in a peaceful manner. He said that Election Machinery including District Administration and Police Personnel rendered their sincere services in making the poll process successful. He thanked the people of the State for their full cooperation in maintaining peace.

Live web casting facility in 132 Polling Stations with the help of NIC have been provided by Election Department of Himachal Pradesh in Lok Sabha Election-2014 for first time in the State.

Chauhan said that all 7385 polling parties along-with Electoral Voting Machines (EVMs) were expected to reach their respective collection centers under tight security. The necessary arrangements have been made to keep polled EVMs in safe custody under tight security in the Strong Room. He said that counting of votes would start on 16th May, 2014 at 8.00 a.m. under the supervision of Observers appointed by Election Commission of India.

Shyam Saran, 98, who exercised his franchise at Kalpa polling booth, was the first post independent voter of India.

According to the information reached at State Headquarters Total approx. percentage of voter turnout to Lok Sabha Election in

Chamba District = 63.52%,
Kangra District = 64.83 % approx,
Lahaul & Spiti District = 61.94 % approx,
Kullu District = approx 62.17%,
Mandi District = 64.03% approx,
Hamirpur District = 69.16%approx,
Una District = 70.97% approx,
Bilaspur District = 67.02% approx,
Solan District = 66.57% approx,
Sirmour District = 69.64% approx,
Shimla District = 59.24% approx and
Kinnaur District = 67.82% approx.

Total percentage of voter turnout for bye-election to Sujanpur Assembly Constituency worked out to be 70.79%