The Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee has constituted a three-member committee to decide the party nominee for the Sujanpur Assembly by-poll.

Committee is headed by senior Party leader and Horticulture Minister Vidya Stokes and other two members of the committee are Health and Revenue Minister Kaul Singh Thakur and Transport Minister GS Bali. Interested party candidates have to submit their candidature before committee by April 3.

Once the committee makes its recommendation, Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee (HPCC) president Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu are likely to make the final decision by April 5, party sources said.

The Sujanpur seat has fallen vacant following the resignation of Rajinder Rana, Independent MLA who is contesting the Lok Sabha election from Hamirpur.