Former HPCC president and senior Congress leader from Kangra district Viplove Thakur is all set to be re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Himachal Pradesh.

She is the first woman from Himachal Pradesh to be nominated for the Upper House for the second term. Three times legislature 1985, 1988 and 1993, Viplove was Minister of State for Ayurveda in the Virbhadra government from 1995 to 1998.

She represented the state in Rajya Sabha from Himachal from 2006 to 2012. Viplove was the Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee president from 2004 to 2007.

It’s learned that the AICC general secretary and Banikhet legislature Asha Kumari and Health Minister Kaul Singh Thakur lobbied hard for Viplove Thakur.

Gangu Ram Musafir, State Congress chief Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu former minister Harsh Mahajan and former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit’s names were also making round.

Today is the last date for filing nominations and polling, although, Thakur’s victory is almost certain as Congress has 36 MLAs in the 68-member Assembly and five Independents and a lone member of Himachal Lokhit Party (HLP) support the ruling party, yet if required polling would be held on February 7.