Shimla: The State government is mulling to develop five satellite townships in the State under Public Private Partnership (PPP) mode and Foreign Direct Investment (FDI).

A Spokesperson of the Urban Development department said here today that five new integrated townships are proposed at Shimla, Solan, Mandi, Hamirpur and Dharamshala. For this, HIMUDA intends to appoint experts having experience in development of integrated townships/related Projects and would seek National and International Transaction expertise on structuring of such projects before the same were put on bidding. Interested National and International private sector players had been invited on or before 15 December, 2013.

HIMUDA would establish a housing colony at Sheel in District Solan under PPP Mode and 32,132.10 Sqm land had been acquired by HIMUDA. A Residential Housing Colony would also be established at Trilokpur in District Sirmour under self financing scheme. It includes construction of 72 flats for category-I, 56 flats for cat-II, 48 flats for cat.-III and 80 flats for cat.-IV flats with parking facility.

The integrated residential township at Mandhala Phase-II (Sansiwala) in District Solan would also be developed. HIMUDA had acquired 30745.32 Sqm land at Sansiwala in which 13 Industrial Plots of different sizes have been proposed.

He said that the Board of Directors has given its nod to construct Assistant Engineering Office-cum-store Building in Social Housing Colony at Nahan. Internal services and development of sites will be included in the project and the work will be completed in next nine months. It has also approved to construct shopping complex in the premises of Housing Colony constructed by HIMUDA at Nalagarh in District Solan.