The race for the post of Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee (HPCC) chief has started with Virbhadra Singh resigning from the post after taking over as Chief Minister. It is learned that Virbhadra Singh has sent his resignation to Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

The process for selecting the new incumbent will start soon and the high command will take a decision after ascertaining the views of party men and discussions with senior leaders.

Himachal Congress is divided into two prominent camps and both camps will try hard to take the rein of party. Former Minister Asha Kumari, who has been denied a berth in the Cabinet, along with Harsh Mahajan, who is supervising the party activities in state now a day are among the top claimants for the coveted post. Beside them Chander Kumar, Gangu Ram Musafir and Ram Lal Thakur are also tipped for the post.