MC Shimla is going to poll tomorrow and all major parties have urged voters to come out and support their candidates. Around 80000 voters will seal the fate of these candidates. Electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used in the election and in all 151 polling stations. Every voter will cast three votes and accordingly each polling station will have three EVMs. Some additional machines have been kept for use in case of malfunctioning or any other issue. Polling will take place from 7am to 4pm. The counting will be conducted on May 28 and the results will be out the same day.

Committee of the Communist Party of India (Marxist), which has announced its candidates well in time and campaigned in MC thoroughly, has appealed to the voters of the Municipal Corporation Shimla to exercise their franchise with out fear and duress of the state Machinery. The people of Shimla must give a rational thought before exercising their vote and without being allured by the false promises of the BJP and Congress which has become a common feature of the elections in the recent period.

CPM in its press release urged people to come out in large numbers to vote out the 26 years misrule of the congress dominated Municipal Corporation and also send correct signals by rejecting the BJP as it has been the champion of pursuing neo-liberal policies in its last 4 and half years of state Govt rule which is making the Rich Richer and the Poor Poorer.

The CPM has promised it will change the character of the Shimla Municipal Corporation by making its functioning more democratic, weed out corruption, give a better quality of work and give service to the people on their doorstep. The Communist Party has urged upon the people to usher a new era of left and Democratic oriented policies in the Municipal Corporation and promises to serve the people with selflessness. It has appealed to the people to give a chance to the CPI(M) and CPI(M) supported Independent candidates so that the party could serve the people.

The Party has appealed to the people to elect Sanjay Chauhan for the post of Mayor. Tikender Panwar for the office of Deputy Mayor and elect young educated and articulate councilors from the under stated wards Bharari – Dr. Lalita, Ruludu Bhatta- Rama Rawat, Kaithu- Kanta Suyal, Anadale- Bindu, Summer Hill- Diksha Thakur, Totu- Veena Pathak (Supported by CPI(M), Boileauganj- Swati Dogra ,Tutikandi- Samriti Tanwa,r Nabha House- Saksham Sharma, Phagli- Kuldeep Singh, Krishna Nagar- Sonia, Ram Bazar-Ganj- Sunanda Karol (Supported by CPI(M), Lower Bazar- Amita (Sood), Jakhoo- Balak Ram Chauhan, Benmore-Chander Kant Verma, Engine-Ghar- Satyawan Pundir, Sanjauli Chowk- Hem Lata Jhagta, Dhali- Ashish Jamalta, Chamyana- Narender Thakur, Malyana- Meera, Kasumpti- Rachna Sharma (Supported by CPI(M), Chotta-Shimla- Ajay Kumar Garg, Khalini- Raj Kumar (Supported by CPI(M), Kanlog- Ajay Chandel.

On the other side Congress seeks votes to carry forward its development in Shimla region. Congress has fielded Mayor Madhu Sood for election and Davinder Chauhan for Deputy Mayor Post.

Ward No 1 (Bharari) – Rashmi Bhardwaj
Ward No. 2 (Ruldubhatta) – Aman Deep Chauhan
Ward No. 4 (Annandale) – Jaiwanti Devi
Ward No. 5 (Summer Hill) – Veena Thakur
Ward No. 6 (Totu) – Nidhi Bathla
Ward No 7 (Baluganj) – Usha Lakhanpal
Ward No. 8 (Tutikandi) – Uma Kaushal
Ward No 9 (Nabha) – Shashi Shekher
Ward No 10 (Fagli) – Rakesh Kuku
Ward No. 11 (Krishnanagar) – Bawana
Ward No. 12 (Ram Bazar) – Sushma Kuthiala
Ward No. 13 (Lower Bazar) – Uma Verma
Ward No 14 (Jakhoo) – Atul Gautam
Ward No 15 (Benmore) – Roshan Lal Verma
Ward No 16 (EngineGhar) – Sushant Keprate
Ward No. 17 (Sanjauli) – Sonia Chauhan
Ward No 18 (Dhalli) – Mahender Singh Kanwar
Ward No 19 (Chamiyana) – Mahender Singh Chauhan
Ward No. 20 (Malyana) – Kuldeep Thakur
Ward No. 21 (Kasumpti) – Sushma Chauhan
Ward No. 22 (Chotta Shimla) – Surinder Chauhan
Ward No. 23 (Patyog) – Deepak Rohal
Ward No. 24 (Khalini) – Parveen Kumar
Ward No. 25 (Kalnog) – Alok Pathania

For BJP noted surgeon Dr SS Minhas, its Mayor Candidate and Dig Vijay Singh Chauhan (Bhanu) for Deputy Mayor and its ward candidates are: ward No. 1 (Bharari) – Kala Sharma, ward No. 2 (Ruldubhatta) – Saroj Thakur, ward No. 3 (Kaithu) – Lata Kaushal, ward No. 4 (Annandale) – Lakshmi Kashyap, ward No. 5 (Summer Hill) – Sunita Devi, ward No. 6 (Totu) – Nirmala Chauhan, ward No. 8 (Tutikandi) – Kalpana Suri, ward No. 11 (Krishnanagar) – Rajni, ward No. 12 (Ram Bazar) – Rupa Sharda, ward No. 13 (Lower Bazar) – Bharti Sood, ward No. 17 (Sanjauli) – Satya Thakur, ward No. 20 (Malyana) – Suresh Chauhan, ward No. 21 (Kasumpti) – Kusum Thakur, ward No. 23 (Patyog) – Hira Lal Sharma, ward No. 24 (Khalini) – Jia Lal.

Previous articleCPM complaints about mobile phone text messages
Next articleHimachal Govt refuses to slash VAT on Petrol
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.