Himachal Pradesh Congress committee has expelled 24 party leaders, who had contested unsuccessfully in the 2012 Assembly Election against the official party candidates. In a press conference at Party Shimla office, Party state president Thakur Sukhvinder Singh said that party has taken action against these leaders as per the party’s constitution Article No 19 (F) – 4 breach of discipline.

These leaders are Raj Singh Thakur Chamba, Surender Thakur Dalhousie, Malender Rajan Indora (SC), Pankaj Fatehpur, Yog Raj Dehra, Baldev Jolig Lahaul-Spiti, Dharamvir Dhami Manali, Premlatta Kullu, Ishwar Daas and Kehar Singh Anni (SC), Kapil Dev Drang, Mast Ram Karsog (SC), Jagdish Joginder Nagar, Shakuntla Kashyap and Parshotam Balh (SC), Ram Jaswal Gagret, Mahender Kutlehar, Vijay Kaushal Jhandutta (SC), Kashimir Singh and Nand Lal Ghumarwin, KD Lakhanpal Bilaspur, Amar Chand Pal Arki, Paramjeet Pummy Doon and Badri Prashad Rohru (SC) assembly segment. However, party hasn’t suspended any party rebel who has won assembly election.

Apart from acting on the rebel party leaders, State Congress Committee has dissolved Block Congress Committee Una, Barmana, Siraj and Poanta Sahib. Party president has also thrown low rank leader from the block level as well. Party has suspended Rameshwar Ram, Sheela and Krishan Kumar from the Block Congress Karsog Committee, Devender Sharma and Tosh Kumar from Mandi Sadar, Vijay Chauhan and Sandeep Sharma from Sarkaghat, Devender Negi, Prem Sharma, Naveen Tanwar and Anurag Parthy from Manali, Shammi Soni from Nadaun, Bagga Ram from Nalagarh, Nityanand Sewal from Pachad (Sirmour) and Youth Congress leader from Arki Sanjay Thakur.

Party president Sukhvinder Singh said that party has suspended all these leaders on the grounds of indiscipline and reiterated his earlier announcement of zero tolerance on indiscipline in the party. He also indicated that the number of expelled members might increase as reports from block level are still awaited.