In the recently concluded Himachal Assembly Election, Forty electors invoke Rule 49-O of the Conduct of Election Rules, 1961, by not voting for any candidate.

The maximum numbers of 12 voters were from Kangra district, followed by Shimla (9), Sirmaur and Bilaspur (4 each), Chamba and Una (3 each), Hamirpur and Solan (2 each) and Kullu district (1).

Electors from Mandi, Kinnaur and Lahaul and Spiti districts didn’t use the Rule 49-O. All these voters, who invoked Rule 49-O, underwent all the formalities that were required for voting like getting indelible ink on their fingernails and signing the electoral register to mark attendance but didn’t vote.

Previous articleTransport Minister Mahender Thakur and son booked for stopping cop from his duty
Next articleHimachal voter turnout 73.92%, not 75%: Election Commission
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.