Senior BJP leader and former Cabinet Minister Rajiv Bindal was unanimously elected the speaker of the 13th Himachal Pradesh Assembly.

Protem Speaker Romesh Dhawala moved the resolution proposed by Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur and seconded by Education Minister Suresh Bhardwaj, was which was adopted by the House and Bindal was declared as Speaker.

Leader of Opposition Mukesh Agnihotri, Irrigation and Public Health Minister Mohinder Singh and, Health and Family Welfare Minister Vipin Singh Parmar also moved the resolution.

Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur and Leader of Opposition Mukesh Agnihotri escorted Rajiv Bindal to the podium and congratulated him and assured full cooperation.

Rajiv Bindal is elected to the Vidhan Sabha from Nahan Assembly constituency. Bindal entered to the Vdhan Sabha in 2000 from Solan assembly segment and won two more elections in 2003 and 2007 from the constituency. However, following delimitation and Solan segment reserved for SC, Bindal shifted to Nahan segment and won seat in 2012 and 2017.

Previous articleAadhaar Leak: FIR against reporter, journalists’ community staged protest
Next articleIndian Air Force Conquers ‘Seven Summits’
Rahul Bhandari is Editor of TheNewsHimachal and has been part of the digital world for last 15 years.