Indian National Congress has selected former Cabinet Minister Mukesh Agnihotri Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader in the Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha.

The CLP had earlier adopted a single-line resolution, authorised Congress president Rahul Gandhi to take the final call on appointing the CLP leader.

AICC general secretary Sushil Kumar Shinde, party affairs in-charge, submitted a report to Rahul Gandhi on the feedback received from party MLAs.

Journalist turned Politician Agnihotri, who is considered close to former chief minister Virbhadra Singh, first elected to the state assembly in 2003 and then re-elected in 2007, 2012 and 2017. Agnihotri was the Industries and Parliamentary Affairs Minister in the previous Virbhadra led state government, and had also hold the position of chief parliamentary secretary and chairman, Housing Board, from March 2003 to August 2005.

Meanwhile Ramesh Dhwala, Jawalamukhi legislature is administered Oath of Office and Secrecy to Protem Speaker of the newly formed Vidhan Sabha. Governor Acharya Devvrat administered Oath. Chief Minister Shri Jai Ram Thakur was also present at the ceremony held at the Raj Bhavan here today.

The four-day winter session of the Assembly would commence at Dharamsala on January 9. The Congress has 21 legislators as against 44 of the BJP in the 68-member House.