New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi presented Prime Minister Award for Excellence in Administration-2017 to Solan district for e-National Agriculture Market (e-NAM) Programme during a function organized at New Delhi today on 11th Civil Services Day.

This award was received by Deputy Commissioner Solan Rakesh Kanwar and Solan e-Mandi Secretary Prakash Kashyap.

Secretary, Administrative Reforms Dr. Purnima Chauhan said that in the agriculture sector, three priority programmes, namely Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana (PMKSY), Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY) and e- National Agriculture Market (eNAM) were identified under Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration 2017. She said the awardees were selected by the Government of India after a rigorous process of ground truthing their performances since August, 2016. All districts of Himachal Pradesh competed in the six flagship programmes with other hill States and Himachal had the unique distinction of submitted maximum entries under e-NAM category.

Dr. Chauhan said the State won PM Award for Soil Health Card last year which was given to district Hamirpur which reflects the agriculture centric focus of the State.

ADM, Solan Sandeep Negi said that e-NAM was very advantageous to the farmers and fruits growers adding that the district administration with cooperation of APMC, Solan worked at the ground level to make it popular in Solan, Sirmaur and Shimla districts.

Negi said the Solan district administration would provide information regarding weather, market rates and crop cycle to the faring community through social media and sms service in near future.