Himachal Congress

Hoping to further strengthen party base in the state, the Congress has decided to create 15 new Block Congress Committee in seven districts of the state.

In a meeting of party office bearer at Shimla today, State Congress President Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu moved a proposal for creation of new BCCs which was accepted by voice vote.

The new BCCs will be Pangi in Chamba district, Tauni Devi in Hamirpur, Kalpa, Nichar, Pooh in Kinnaur, Kaza, Keylong, Udiapur in Lahaul Spiti, Kandaghat in Solan, Kupvi, Nerwa, Chirgaon in Shimla, Kafota in Sirmaur district and Swarghat, Jukhala in Bilaspur district.

To educate party workers about the ideology of party, the state congress is organising a three day workshop from February 6-8, in which PCC office bearers, Ministers, MLAs, Block Observers and delegates from its all frontal organizations would participate.

Congress President also detailed out the progress in party’s membership drive, and claimed of carrying it out in transparent manner. Sukhu revealed that all the ministers, MLAs and PCC office bearers have been asked to participate in the drive at village and booth level in their respective blocks of the state on February 1, 2015.

AICC General Secretary Raja Rampal Singh has appreciated Sukhu’s initiative for the creation of new organisational districts and blocks and hailed it as innovative step that would help the party in emerging out strongly into the future.

The meeting was attended by the majority of PCC office bearers, DCC and BCC Presidents, Block Observers and presidents of all frontal organizations.