Kumari Shilpa Sharma of Himachal Pradesh will be one of 25 young children, who will confer with National Bravery Awards from Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh on the eve of Republic Day.

The children will receive their Awards from the Prime Minister prior to Republic Day 2014 and will participate in the Republic Day Parade. The awardees will receive a medal, certificate and cash. Recipients will also be granted financial assistance until they complete their schooling.

The President of India and several other dignitaries including Defence Minister will host reception in their honour. Several states too organise functions to honour them at State Level.

Announcing this at a press conference organised at Indian Council for Child Welfare, New Delhi, Gita Siddhartha, President, ICCW, said that the coveted Bharat Award has been conferred on 8 ½ year old Kumari Mahika Gupta of Delhi who saved her brother from floods at Kedarnath (Uttarakhand).

The prestigious Geeta Chopra Award has been conferred to 16 year old Kumari Maleka Singh Tak of Rajasthan who displayed rare grit and determination in fighting off her molesters. The Sanjay Chopra Award has been given to 17 year old Master Shubam Santosh Chaudari of Maharashtra who saved two children when their school van caught fire.

Master Sanjay Navasu Sutar of Maharashtra, Master Akshay Jairam Roj of Maharashtra, Late Kum. Mausmi Kashyap of Uttar Pradesh and Late Master Aryan Raj Shukla of Uttar Pradesh have been given the Bapu Gaidhani Awards. Master Akshay Rairam Roj and Master Sanjay Navasu Sutar displayed outstanding courage in fighting a leopard. Late Kumari Mausmi Kashyap and Later Master Aryan Raj Shukla sacrificed their lives while trying to save others from drowning.

Kumari Shilpa Sharma (Himachal Pradesh), Master Sagar Kashyap (New Delhi), Master Abhishek Ekka (Chattisgarh), Master S.S. Manoj (Karnataka), Master Subin Mathew, Master Akhil Biju and Master Yadhukrishnan V. S. (all from Kerala), Master Saurbh Chandel (Madhya Pradesh), Kumari Tanvi Nandkumar Ovhal and Master Rohit Ravi Janmanchi (Maharashtra), Master Kangleinganba Kshetrimayum, Kumari Kharibam Gunichand Devi and Later Master M. Khayingthei (all from Manipur), Master Vanlalhruaia, Kumari Remlalhruaitluangi, late Kumari Malsawmtluangi and Kumari Hani Ngurdinthari (all from Mizoram) and Late Master L. Manio Chachei (Nagaland) are other recipients.

Among the awardees 9 are girls. Five awards will be given posthumously.