The Himachal Pradesh Cabinet has given its approval to allot Sissu (0.80 MW) and Limphu (2.75 MW) small hydroelectric projects in Lahaul-Spiti district in favour of M/S Chandra Valley Hydro Power Projects Cooperative Society Limited and Awa-II (2 MW) SHEP in district Kangra in favour of M/S Him Power Projects.

The Cabinet, which was presided by Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, has also given its approval for fragmentation of 70 MW Harsar hydroelectric project in three stages having capacities of 30 MW, 22 MW & 18 MW subject to fulfillment of laid down conditions. Cabinet also granted for fragmentation of 45 MW Bharmour HEP for implementation in two separate stages of 22.5 MW each.

Cabinet also decided to dispose of the power of all four hydro electric projects, being executed by HPPCL, through long term Power Purchase Agreements (PPA’s) as is being done by Central Power Sector Undertakings (CPSU’s) and power will be offered to different consumers of the region or elsewhere on the same terms and conditions as are applicable in case of CPSU’s.