Congress announces new team, awards election losers with party posts


Himachal Pradesh Congress committee has been given makeover as Congress national President Sonia Gandhi has accepted the proposal of reconstituted state Congress. The new state Congress team comprised seven vice-president and nine General Secretaries besides a treasurer and a 14-member Executive Committee. Congress also appointed 20 permanent invitees in its new set-up.

Congress high command had earlier appointed Thakur Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu as state party president. Interestingly, there was hardly a new face in this new set-up as Congress has included some former ministers and MLAs, who lost the last assembly elections in the state. However, those who were dropped from the previous committee are some ministers in the Congress government in the state and made permanent invitees to the HPCC.

HPCC President

Thakur Sukhvinder Singh

HPCC vice presidents

Former Kangra MP Chander Kumar, former minister Harsh Mahajan, former Speaker Ganguram Musafir, Kailash Parashar, A N Vidyarthi, Nikhil Rajaur and Geeta Negi.

HPCC General Secretaries

Ex MLA Harbhajan Singh Bajji, Harshvardhan Chauhan, former minister Ram Lal Thakur, MLA Ajay Mahajan, Ravi Thakur, Vinod Sultanpuri, Sunil Verma, Sunder Thakur, and Susheela Negi.


Surender Chauhan

Member, Executive Committee

Kuldeep Rathor, Sudhir Sharma, Rajesh Dharmani, Rohit Thakur, Ajay Bahadur Singh, Sanjay Awasthi, Satpal Raizada, Mahender Chauhan, Nasima Begum, Namita Roshan Lal, Mahesh Raj, Madan Chaudhary, Urmila Sharma and Tara Thakur.

Permanent invitees

Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, Union Commerce Minister Anand Sharma, Cabinet Ministers Vidya Stokes, Kaul Singh Thakur, Dhani Ram Shandil, G S Bali, Mukesh Agnihotri, Sujan Singh Pathania and Thakur Singh Bhrmouri besides Mahila Congress chief Anita Verma.