BJP candidate for Mandi by-poll Jai Ram Thakur will file his nomination papers in Mandi on June 1. Most of state BJP leaders, including former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, Shanta Kumar, Balbir Punj, state BJP president Satpal Singh Satti and all legislature, party office bearers will be present at the occasion.

State BJP spokesperson Ganesh Dutt revealed that BJP leaders will also address rally after the filing of papers. He said a meeting of the office-bearers, the state executive, legislators, Members of Parliament and other functionaries would be held after the rally.

To speed up campaign in Mandi parliamentary, the state BJP chief had delegated duties to all legislators and Members of Parliament who had been made regional, district and Assembly segments in charge. Legislator and former cabinet minister Mahender Singh is made in-charge of Karsog, Sundernagar, Nachan and Sarkaghat, legislator Randhir Sharma will oversee campaign in Mandi, Seraj and Balh and former Member of Parliament Kripal Parmar of Jogindernagar and Darang. Legislator and former cabinet minister Ravinder Singh Ravi is in charge of Banjar, Kullu and Manali assembly segment, whereas Lok Sabha member Virender Kashyap was given responsibility of Rampur, Ani, Kinnaur and Spiti region. Former Member of Parliament Suresh Chandel will oversee organizational responsibility in tribal region of Bharmour and Lahaul and Udaipur mandal of Lahaul-Spiti district.

Satpal Satti also designates most of its leaders and party office bearers in Mandi by-poll. Most of former legislatures have been designated in assembly segment to oversee the party campaign in the region. Three times Theog legislature Rakesh Verma was given responsibility of Ani assembly segment, former cabinet minister Narinder Bragta Kinnaur and Suresh Bhardwaj, Shimla legislature will spearhead party campaign in Rampur Vidhan Sabha segment.

However, to ensure the close ballot battle Jai Ram Thakur has started his campaign for the Mandi by-election at Tatta Pani, Bakshiad, Dharmour, Mahunag and Karsog. He urged party workers to fan out in the Karsog constituency. He attacked on UPA Govt and blamed them for steeped in corruption and scams. He termed the first five months of the state government disappointed.