Infuriated over the denial of the BJP ticket to Mandi district unit president Dile Ram, the Nachan block of the BJP resigned en masse. Dile Ram is the sitting MLA from Nachan and the Chairman of the Finance Commission. He had won the last Assembly elections by a margin of 8,500 votes.

BJP workers from Nachan held meeting under Nachan block President Manoj Sharma and decided unanimously to resign from the BJP. A resolution was passed and signed by Manoj Sharma and block general secretaries Yashwant Thakur and Chaman Sharma. Copies of the resolution were sent to party Chief Nitin Gadkari and state president Sat Pal Satti.

Dile Ram tendered his resignation from the post of district president and dissolved the unit. Addressing the workers, he said he would contest the elections as an Independent. Vinod Kumar also tried to enter the hall where the meeting was going on, but infuriated party workers didn’t let him to go in.