Ruling BJP have won Renuka (reserved) seat from Congress and Congress wrenched Nalagarh assembly seat from BJP. Renuka was considered to be a stronghold of Congress and Nalagarh was BJP’s strong bastion from more then decade. However, prior to the election it was considered that both parties will retain their seats, but voters proved all speculation and political observers’ wrong.

Election officials said the BJP’s Hirday Ram beat Vinay Kumar of the Congress in the Renuka (reserved) seat by over 3500 votes. Whereas in the Nalagarh assembly seat Lakhwinder Singh Rana of the Congress beat Gurnam Kaur of the BJP by over 1500 votes. Both seats were vacated after the death of their MLA’s. Both party had awarded tickets to the family line as from Renuka seat Congress gave ticket to Vinay Kumar, son Prem Singh who won this seat six times and from Nalagarh seat which was BJP stronghold as H.N. Saini had secured it for more then decade for BJP, had chosen his widow Gurnam Kaur as their candidate.