Spokesman of the State Government said that a State Steering Committee has constituted and will be headed by the Chief Secretary for examining the action plan and review the progress of the activities taken under from time to time in respect of Wetlands identified under National Wetland Conservation Programme. A notification has been issued to all concerned.

Additional Chief Secretary (Environment Science & Technology) will the Vice Chairman of the Committee while Additional Chief Secretary (Forests), Principal Secretary (Tourism), Principal Chief Conservator of Forests, Principal Chief Conservator of Forests (Wildlife), Advisor/Director (Conservation Wetland Programme) MoEF, Gol, New Delhi, Deputy Commissioners, Kangra, Chamba, Mandi, Lahual & Spiti and Sirmour Districts, Director, Department of Fisheries, Director, Department of Environment, S&T, Conservator of Forests (Wildlife), North & South and CF Mandi, Member Secretary, H.P. State Pollution Control Board, State Geologist, H.P. Shimla, three local NGO’s to be nominated by the Committee and Member Secretary State Council for Science Tech. & Environment for its members.

The Steering Committee will approve Annual Action Plans for conservation and management of all RAMSAR wetlands and Wetlands of National Importance i.e. Renukaji, Pong Dam, Chandertal, Riwalsar & Khajjiyar as per the guidelines of MOEF, Gol, New Delhi. The term of the Steering Committee will be for three years.

Previous articleMaa Bhangayani Mela Haripurdhar begins
Next articleAdmission to Diploma course in Handloom & Textile Technology
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.