Shimla: For November 9 Assembly Election, out of 338 candidates 61 candidates have declared criminal cases against them.

As per the Himachal Pradesh Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) report, based on the self-sworn affidavits of all 338 candidates, revealed that three candidates have declared serious criminal cases against them, one of Congress candidate has declared case related to murder (Indian Penal Code Section-302) against himself, while two candidates have declared cases related to attempt to murder (Indian Penal Code Section-307) against them.

Party wise Candidates with Criminal Cases: 6 out of 68 candidates from Indian National Congress (INC), 23 out of 68 candidates from BJP, 3 out of 42 candidates from BSP, 10 out of 14 candidates from CPM and 16 out of 112 Independent candidates have declared criminal cases against them in their affidavits.

Crorepati Candidates: Out of the 338 candidates analysed, 158 are crorepatis.

Chopal BJP candidate Balbir Verma has declared the total assets of over Rs. 90 Crore, Vikramaditya Singh has Rs. 84 Crore and Dr. Rajesh Sharma contesting as an independent candidate from Kangra segment has declared asserts of Rs. 74 crore in his election affidavit.

Party wise Crorepati Candidates: Congress has 59 candidates, BJP 47 candidates, 6 from BSP, 3 from CPM and 36 Independent candidates have declared assets worth more than Rs. 1 crore.

SP candidate from Churah Nand Kumar has declared of total Rs. 1000 asset followed by Churamani (3,788) and Sunder Lal (9,000) from Darang and Seraj are among declared lowest assets.

Education details of candidates: 120 candidates have declared their educational qualification to be between 5th pass and 12th pass, while 214 candidates have declared having an educational qualification of graduate or above.

In Himachal Elections 2017, 10 women are contesting. Congress has fielded Asha Kumari from Dalhousie, Viplov Thakur from Dehra, Champa Thakur from Mandi, while BJP has fielded Reeta Dhiman from Indora, Sarvin Chaudhary from Shahpur, Indu Gauswamy from Palampur, Kamlesh Kumari from Bhoranj and Vijay Jyoti Sain from Kasumpati segment.