National Agricultural Insurance Scheme

The Himachal Government has decided to continue the implementation of the National Agricultural Insurance Scheme (Rashtriya Krishi Bima Yojna) during Rabi, 2015-16 seasons on the existing patterns in selected units of the State after getting administrative approval from the government of India.

The Scheme is applicable to all the farmers growing wheat and barley crops and Agriculture Insurance Company of India Ltd. will be the implementing agency. It will cover 44 units including Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils of Bilaspur, Chamba, Hamirpur, Kangra, Kinnaur, Kullu, Mandi, Shimla, Sirmaur, Solan and Una districts of the State for wheat crop and 20 units of Chamba, Kangra, Kinnaur, Kullu, Mandi, Shimla, Sirmaur and Solan districts for barley crop.

The risks covered under the scheme would be natural fire and lightning, storm, hailstorm, cyclone, typhoon, tempest, hurricane, tornado, drought, dry spells and pests/diseases etc. However, losses arising out of war and nuclear risks, malicious damage and other preventable risks have been excluded from the ambit of this scheme.

The Scheme will be on compulsory basis to loanee farmers availing Seasonal Agricultural Operation (SAO) loans from the financial institutions i.e. commercial banks, cooperative banks, regional rural banks and primary agricultural cooperatives (PACs) for the insured crops within the stipulated period whereas for the non-loanee farmers, it is optional.