Assembly Speaker Brij Bihari Lal Butail has constituted two Select Committees for the HP Lokayukta Bill 2014 and the Town and Country Planning Amendment Bill 2014.

Cabinet Minister Kaul Singh Thakur will be the chairman of the Select Committee which will take a closer look at the Lokayukta Bill and Gulab Singh Thakur, Kuldeep Kumar, Ajay Mahajan, Vijay Agnihotri, Karnesh Jung and Bamber Thakur were appointed its members.

For the Town and Country Planning Amendment Bill 2014, Minister Sudhir Sharma was appointed its head and Asha Kumari, Maheshwar Singh, Suresh Bhardwaj, BK Chauhan, Anirudh Singh and Sanjay Rattan will be its members.

Earlier, Govt had tabled both bills in the budget session of Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha. Opposition had picked legal holes in the bill and through media, opposition advised Govt to rethink over it. On the last day of session, Chief Minister had referred these two bills to select committee and assured house to convene special session when bill will be ready.