Shimla: Congress candidate for Rajya Sabha seat Viplov Thakur filled her nomination papers here today.

Viplove had earlier also represented Rajya Sabha from the state in 2006. She was 26th Rajya Sabha member and sixth woman member from Himachal to be elected to the Rajya Sabha. Earlier, Lilavati Mahajan (1956), Satyawati Dang (1968), Mohinder Kaur (1978), Usha Malhotra (1980) and Chandresh Kumari (1996) were elected to Rajya Sabha from the state.

Viplove Thakur was elected to Himachal Pradesh Assembly in 1985, 1993 and 1998 and was minister for ayurveda in the Virbhadra Singh government from 1993 to 1998.

Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh was also present during her nomination and while talking to the press, he welcomed the decision of the Congress High Command and clarified that her candidature was supported by all the members of the State Congress.

Cabinet Ministers Kaul Singh Thakur, Dr.Dhani Ram Shandil, Mukesh Agnihotri and others with party leaders present on the occasion.