Vice Chairman, State Freedom Fighters Welfare Board Susheel Chand Rattan said that Suket Satyagrahi Memorial would be constructed in the memory of freedom fighters at Dari near Dharamshala in district Kangra. He was presiding over the 16th meeting of State Freedom Fighters Welfare Board here, today.

Rattan said that land for constructing the memorial had been identified. He said that the honour of freedom fighters was on foremost agenda of the State Government and many schemes were being implemented for their welfare. He said that freedom fighters of the State had played a pivotal role during the freedom struggle movement. He said that free travelling identity cards were being issued to the wives of freedom fighters along with their attendant after the death of the freedom fighters. The decision had been taken to nominate at least two freedom fighters at district level committees, he added.

He said that roads and pedestrian paths upto their homes would be constructed on priority. Directions have been given to clear the medical bills of freedom fighters on priority basis and two percent reservation to the wards of freedom fighters was being provided in the Government jobs. He said that backlog of employment to the wards of the freedom fighters would be cleared soon and process for providing employment to 762 wards would be expedited. It was also decided to make arrangements for stay of freedom fighters in rest houses.

Earlier, Member Secretary, Freedom Fighters Welfare Board and Chief Secretary, S. Roy said that State Government was endeavouring to provide every possible assistance to the freedom fighters and their wards. Two minutes silence was also observed in the memory of departed freedom fighters. Freedom Fighters from all over the State and their wards were present in the meeting.

Additional Secretary, Social Justice and Empowerment, Dr. P.C.Kapoor, Principal Secretary, Art, Language and Culture, Upma Chawdhary, Secretary, GAD, Subhasish Panda, Deputy Commissioner, district Kangra, C. Palrasu, Deputy Commissioner, Hamirpur district, Ashish Singhmar, Director, Health and Family Welfare, Kulbhushan Sood, Director, Art, Language and Culture, Dr. D.K. Gupta, Engineer-in-Chief, Public Works Department, Pradeep Chauhan, Engineer-in-Chief, Irrigation and Public Health Department, R.K. Sharma and other senior officers were also present in the meeting.