Himachal Pradesh BJP has announced senior leader Jairam Thakur as its candidate for the Mandi Parliamentary by-poll, slated for the June 23.

BJP state president Satpal Singh Satti, in his press communiqué, revealed that party national president Rajnath Singh has approved Jairam Thakur’s name for the by-election.

Jairam Thakur is a senior party leader and was a minister in the previous Prem Kumar Dhumal government. He was elected first time in 1998 and so far he has won assembly election for four times. He was also party state president from 2007 to 2009 and after that he was inducted into the cabinet as Rural Development Minister.

The Mandi seat had fallen vacant following the resignation of Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh after he was elected to the state assembly.

The Congress is yet to declare its candidate for the seat.

Previous articleInvestment in education in an investment in future: President
Next articleForest Department gears-up to weed-out Lantana
The News Himachal seeks to cover the entire demographic of the state, going from grass root panchayati level institutions to top echelons of the state. Our website hopes to be a source not just for news, but also a resource and a gateway for happenings in Himachal.