Bahra University

Delimitation has forced many leaders to shift to other constituency and Chief Minister is also among them. With his home constituency of Bamson having been scrapped by the Delimitation Commission, Prem Kumar Dhumal has hinted to contest the Assembly elections from Hamirpur Sadar assembly segment.

The chief minister has been looking for a new constituency after his stronghold of Bamson was trifurcated and merged with Sujanpur, Hamirpur and the newly created Bhoranj constituency in the district. Dhumal had won trice from the Bamson.

Hamirpur Sadar on the other hand, is represented by two-time BJP MLA Urmil Thakur. Thakur, only a few days back, had hinted that she would not contest the elections if she was denied a ticket from Hamirpur. She had been suggesting Sujanpur for Prem Kumar Dhumal, where the chief minister’s close confidant Rajender Rana has been seeking opportunity to contest. However, the chief minister also has the option of contesting from Naudan, the only constituency in the district represented by a Congress MLA.

15 august 2021