Himachal Pradesh Congress has constituted Intellectual Department (Vichar Vibhag) and oppointed Prof. NK Singh its chairman. Prof. BS Pathania was appointed convener and SG Negi, Major Krishna Mohini and JN Barowalia were given the responsibility of Co-Convener of Intellectual Department. Brig TS Thakur, Kishori Lal, OC Thakur, RL Sood and Savitri Verma were appointed as its members.

To make functional in whole state, Intellectual Department has appointed its head in 11 districts and in Bilaspur party will name representative soon. For Shimla district Laik Ram was appointed Convener and PD Nanda and Champa Raunta were appointed Co-Convener, whereas Mahender Singh Thakur was given the responsibility of Mandi district. Balram Thakur was given the charge of Kullu and Dr. Swatander Mahajan will oversee the working of Intellectual Department in Kangra district. In Lahaul Spiti Ravi Thakur and Jeevan Singh was given the charge of Kinnaur districts. Congress has appointed Mohan Lal Benal Convener of Intellectual Department and Vandana Bansal as its Co-Convener. Balbir Singh and Harpreet Singh were appointed for Sirmour district, whereas Dharam Malhotra was made Convener of Chamba district. Intellectual Department has appointed Pramod Sharma for Una district and DK Dhyanpuri was given charge of Hamirpur district.

In a press conference at Shimla, Intellectual Department chairman Prof. NK Singh said that it is first time in Himachal Pradesh politics that such a team of intellectuals have given a charge under this institution by party with the main motto to help party to win the assembly poll. Singh also added that Intellectual Department will prove its worth and become asserts for the party. NK Singh further added that Intellectual Department will hold conference in Solan in second week of September, where all major Congress leaders including Virbhadra Singh, Anand Sharma, Vidya Stokes, Kaul Singh and others will present. Singh said that on the day newly formed Intellectual Department will also present its vision document, which will help party to touch the workers in grassroots level.