What could be deemed to as the biggest jolt to the Congress party in Shimla Municipal polls in the last 25 years, we assume that more is awaited for Congress and BJP in the upcoming Assembly elections. Well, before we talk about this part, let me tell you some titbits of the Shimla Municipal elections wherein CPI(M) comes out to be a real champion. The party won both Mayor and Deputy Mayor Posts in what is called the first direct elections for the posts. In a five cornered contest for the post of deputy mayor, CPI(M) candidate Tikender Panwar was declared winner who defeated his nearest rival, Digvijay Chauhan, of BJP by a margin of 4778 votes. Tikender polled 21,196 while Digvijay got 16,418 and Congress candidate Devinder Chauhan was third with 13,205 votes. Subsequently, for the post of Mayor there were seven candidates, however, the election was won by Sanjay Chauhan of CPI(M) who beat his nearest rival SS Minhas of BJP by 7868 votes.

Talking about the scenario of previous election, Congress had 15 councilors but this time is declared victorious in 10 wards only. CPI(M) won 3 wards and BJP candidates were declared winner in 12 wards. The Mayor and deputy Mayor posts were clinched by CPI(M) which shows that somewhere the wind is change has started blowing as it becomes somewhat clear that there is some penchant for the third front in the state but to what extant will be cleared in the forthcoming assembly elections this year. Keep your fingers crossed and wait for it as we’ll keep you updated on the whole drama.

List of winners in the Shimla MC wards

Kala Sharma (BJP) wins from Bharari
Saroj Thakur (BJP) wins from Ruldubhatta
Kanta Suyal CPI (M) wins from Kaithu
Lakshmi Kashyap (BJP) wins from Annadale
Diksha Thakur CPI (M) wins from Summer Hill
Nirmala Chauhan (BJP) wins from Totu
Usha Lakhanpal (Cong) wins from Boileauganj
Uma Kaushal (Cong) wins from Tutikandi
Shashi Shekhar (Cong) wins from Nabha
BJP candidate wins from Fagli
Rajni (BJP) wins from Krishnanagar
Sushma Kathiala (Cong) wins from Ram Bazar
Bharti Sood (BJP) wins from Lower bazar
BJP candidate wins from Jakhu
BJP candidate wins from Benmore
Sushant Keprate (Cong) wins from Engine Ghar
Satya Thakur (BJP) wins from Sanjauli
BJP candidate wins from Dhalli
Narender Thakur CPI (M) wins from Chamyana
Kuldeep Thakur (Cong) wins from Malyana
Kusum Thakur (BJP) wins from Kasumpti
Surinder Chauhan (Cong) wins from Chhota Shimla
Deepak Rohal (Cong) wins from Patyog
Parveen Kumar (Cong) wins from Khalini
Alok Pathania (Cong) wins from Kalnog