The Palampur Zila Banao Sangharsh Samiti intensified its agitation in support of their demand to accord the district status for Palampur. The samiti flagged off a Rath Yatra that would pass through 500 villages under three sub-divisions of Jaisinghpur, Baijnath and Palampur. The Yatra will return to Palampur on May 16, 2012.

Jagmel Katoch, president of the Palampur Zila Banao Sangharsh Samiti, said a yatra will be followed by the complete strike on May 16 across this region and a protest march would also be held at Palampur on that day in which residents of all the three sub-divisions of the Palampur region would participate.