In order to check and discourage illicit Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic substances, the State Government has constituted District Level Anti Narcotics Task force for the districts of Kullu, Kinnaur, Kangra, Shimla, Sirmour, Mandi and Chamba.

Deputy Commissioner of the concerned district will be its Chairperson and Superintendent of Police Member Secretary. Chief Medical Officer, Conservator of Forest/DFO, Deputy Director Horticulture, Deputy Director Agriculture, District Revenue Officer, Assistant Commissioner Excise and Taxation/ETO Incharge, Project Officer, District Rural Development Agency, District Welfare Officer, District Attorney, Deputy Director Higher Education, Drug Inspector/Assistant Controller Incharge of district will be its Members.

The Deputy Commissioner can co-opt any other person in the District Task Force as may be required.

The District Level Anti Narcotics Task Force will meet as often as required and will identify the areas of cultivation in the respective districts besides creating and activating anti narcotics cells in the districts and coordinate manpower requirement and equipment for these cells for anti narcotics work. It will also take steps for destruction of the cannabis growth and arrest of the persons involved in cannabis, extraction and trafficking.