Nauni/Solan: Adding to its rich heritage of academic excellence, Dr AK Gupta, a senior professor of the Dr YS Parmar University of Horticulture and Forestry (UHF), Nauni, has been chosen for the prestigious JP Verma Memorial Award (2018).

Dr Gupta is presently serving as the Head of the Department of Plant Pathology at UHF.

The award, given each year by the Indian Phytopathological Society, takes into account Dr Gupta’s contributions to teaching and research in Plant Bacteriology. The society approved his name for the award during its 70th Annual Meeting held in Assam last month.

Established in the year 1949, Indian Phytopathological Society is a professional society for promoting the cause of science of Phytopathology. It focuses on the fields of Mycology, Plant Pathology, Bacteriology, Virology, Phytoplasmology and Nematology and provides a platform to the scientists working in the field of plant pathological related research to share their research achievements. The society has its headquarters at the Division of Mycology and Plant Pathology, Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi.


Dr Gupta joined UHF in 1989 at Horticulture Regional Research Substation, Tabo, where he worked on bacterial diseases especially on stem, leaf and fruit gummosis of stone fruits. He is also the recipient of the KPV Menon Award for the best poster research paper award, instituted by the IPS. His name has been included in Elsevier professional group and is credited with developing a sound protocol for isolation and identification of Agrobacterium radiobacter from rhizosphere soil. In addition to the several research papers in leading journals of repute, Dr Gupta has also published 25 book chapters, extension articles and bulletins.

Born at Aligarh, Dr Gupta passed his M.Sc (Botany) with specialization in Plant Pathology from Agra University. After completing his doctorate in Botany (Mycology and Plant Pathology) from Jiwaji University, he had a short stint at IARI’s Directorate of Wheat Research.

Dr HC Sharma, Vice Chancellor, UHF Nauni congratulated Dr Gupta for bringing laurels to the university.