Former Cabinet Minister Major Vijay Singh Mankotia has filed his nomination as an independent candidate from Shahpur assembly constituency in Kangra District.

Major Mankotia, who had leveled serious allegations against Congress stalwart Virbhadra Singh recently in July and was unceremoniously removed from the post of the Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Board vice-chairman. Demanded party high-command intervention and sacking of Singh from the post, Mankotia had blamed Singh of “bringing shame to the state”.

Earlier as well Major Mankotia had rebelled against Indian National Congress. In 2007 he had left party and joined BSP and unsuccessfully contested. However, he had damaged party prospect on many seats and BJP comfortably managed to form the government in the state. Before 2012 assembly election, Virbhadra Singh persuaded had Major Vijay Singh Mankotia and was given ticket from Shahpur, but lost to BJP candidate. He was later made Vice-Chairman of Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Board.

Today, as many as 95 candidates today filed their nominations for the State Assembly elections. 23 nominations were filed in Kangra district including Congress candidate Sudhir Sharma from Dharamshala constituency, Indu Bala of BJP from Palampur, Mulkh Raj Premi of BJP from Baijnath, Ajay Mahajan of Congress from Nurpur, Ramesh Dhwala from Jawalamukhi as BJP candidate, BJP candidate Sarween Chaudhary from Shahpur, Congress candidate Kamal Kishore from from Indora.

In Solan district, Dr. Rajeev Saijal filed nominations as BJP candidate from Kasauli segment. Eleven candidates filed nominations in Una district on Saturday. These include Balwinder Singh of Congress from Chintpurani, Rakesh Kalia of Congress from Gagret, Mukesh Agnihotri of Congress from Haroli, Satpal Singh Raizada of Congress and Satpal Singh Satti of BJP from Una constituency.

In Sirmaur district Suresh Kashyap of BJP from Pachhad, Ajay Solanki of Congress from Nahan and Hridaya Ram as Independent from Renuka Ji.

In Bilaspur district, Beeru Ram Kishore of Congress filed nominations from Jhanduta, Tilak Raj as Independent and Subhash Thakur of BJP from Bilaspur Sadar.

In Shimla district, Subhash Manglate of Congress form Chopal, Prem Singh Draik of BJP from Rampur, Rakesh Verma of BJP from Theog, Anirudh Singh of Congress form Kusumpti and Mohan Lal Brakta of Congress from Rohru filed their nominations.

In Kullu district Aditya Virkam Singh of Congress and Surender Shouri of BJP filed their nomination from Banjar assembly constituency.

In Mandi district, Hira Lal of BJP and Mansa Ram of Congress filled nomination from Karsog, Chet Ram of Congress from Seraj, Jwahar Thakur of BJP from Drang, Kaul Singh Thakur daughter Champa Thakur also filled nomination from Mandi Sadar segment.