In a chain of important events in Himachal Elections 2017, today was the last day for withdrawing the nominations to contest Himachal assembly elections. As per the earlier records 475 filed nominations and Kangra topped with 119 contestants. However, now only 349 are in the battleground out of which only 68 will get stamps from electorate to represent their constituencies.

Dharmashala constituency has maximum 12 candidates in the contest, Sarkaghat, karsog and Jaswan-Pragpur have 9 each candidates, Palampur, Fatehpur have 8 each aspirants, while Sullah, Dharampur, Mandi, Hamirpur, Kutlehar and Kasumpati have seven candidates in the fray for November 9 poll. Jhandutta constituency has 2 candidates in fray.

Both major political parties Congress and BJP has failed to persuade its rebel candidates and are likely to damage party prospects in the election. Prominent are Harish Janartha, Shimla Urban segment (Congress), BK Chauhan Chamba (BJP), Rajan Sushant, Fatehpur (BJP), Vijay Singh Mankotia, Shahpur (Congress), Parveen Kumar, Palampur (BJP), Puran Chand, Drang (Congress), Rajiv Gautam, Una (Congress), Hardeep Singh Bawa, Nalagarh (Congress), Hirdaya Rama, Renuka Ji (BJP) and Singhi Ram, Rampur (Congress).

Previous articleHimachal Elections 2017: BJP Finding ‘It’ Hard!
Next articleHimachal Elections 2017: Election Commission reviews poll preparedness
Rahul Bhandari is Editor of TheNewsHimachal and has been part of the digital world for last 15 years.