JP Nadda

In the first cabinet expansion and reshuffle, Himachal Pradesh got well deserved representation as Narender Modi has included prominent BJP leader JP Nadda in his cabinet.

Nadda, who hails from Bilaspur district of Himachal Pradesh, is touted as a master-strategist of Prime Minister Narendra Modi as well as BJP President Amit Shah.

He had represented Himachal Legislative Assembly from 1993-98, 1998-2003 and 2007-2012. He had served as Health Minister in the state from 1998-2003 and from 2008-2010, Minister of Forest and Environment, Science and Technology.

BJP National General Secretary JP Nadda, who enjoys support from the RSS, was also tipped for the post of BJP National President.

Nadda has started his political journey as a student leader and became the active member of ABVP. He represented ABVP in Patna University in 1977, where his father was serving as a Vice Chancellor. He holds various key positions in ABVP for nearly 13 years from 1977-1990. He also headed BJYM National team in 1991.

BJP leaders from Himachal have lined up to congratulate JP Nadda. In a joint media statement, most leaders and office bearer have hailed the decision. State BJP hold a march at State BJP Office Shimla and raised slogan in favour of Nadda, Narender Modi and party. Similar road-show were also reported from Bilaspur, Nadda’s home place and various other towns of the state.

Total 21 ministers were inducted in Modi’s Cabinet today. Out of these, four are Cabinet ministers, 14 MoS while three others are MoS (Independent).

1. Manohar Parrikar
2. Suresh Prabhu
3. Jagat Prakash Nadda
4. Chaudhary Birender Singh


1. Bandaru Dattatreya
2. Rajiv Pratap Rudy
3. Dr. Mahesh Sharma


1. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
2. Ram Kripal Yadav
3. Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary
4. Sanwar Lal Jat
5. Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya
6. Giriraj Singh
7. Hansraj Gangaram Ahir
8. Prof. (Dr.) Ram Shankar Katheria
9. Y.S. Chowdary
10. Jayant Sinha
11. Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore
12. Babul Supria (Babul Supriyo) Baral
13. Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti
14. Vijay Sampla

The President administered the oath of office and secrecy to the above twenty-one members of the Council of Ministers at a swearing-in ceremony held in the Rashtrapati Bhavan, today.

With 21 new faces inducted into Prime Minister Narendra Modi Council of Ministers, the strength of his team now stands at 66.